Change your address to Latitude & Longitude

"My Way"

An attempt at a daily Journal
Current Anchorage: Miami, Florida

Captains Log sea date March 24, 2011

Claiming an Abandoned Vessel in Florida

I was looking up information about Florida’s laws on derelict/abandoned boats and came across some good info on FWC’s website.

The state of Florida has no salvage laws giving the finder of an abandoned vessel rights of ownership. Florida is a title state, thereby requiring a transfer of vessel title from owner to purchaser in order to obtain legal ownership. A person who finds an abandoned vessel and who wants to make claim to it must comply with Section 705.103, Florida Statutes. This will allow for a person to make claim to the property and make application for title transfer into his name.

Frequently asked questions
Can I just help myself to an abandoned vessel that has been discarded or left on public waters of the state?
No! It is a crime in the state of Florida to take an abandoned vessel without first getting title to it, doing so is considered theft. Failure to comply with Section 705.103, Florida Statutes could result in fines or even jail time.

If  I see a vessel that I believe is abandoned, how do I make claim to it and start the claims process?
The first requirement is to report it to a law enforcement agency. The law enforcement agency will collect a fee for beginning an investigation, conduct an investigation under Section 705.103, Florida Statutes, and determine the owner of the vessel. If the vessel is not claimed in the process of the investigation, the law enforcement agency may transfer it to the finder with a bill of sale and evidence of the investigation. The finder would then make application to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to have the title put into his name.

How long does this process usually take and how much does it usually cost?
The investigation process usually takes between 45 days to 120 days or longer. The cost associated with the investigation is usually between $300.00 and $600.00. The costs may be more or less than this depending on the investigation requirements.

Can I take parts of an abandoned or derelict vessel without obtaining title?
Absolutely not! This is considered theft and would subject a person taking such parts to criminal charges.

Can I claim a vessel that has been posted as derelict by a law enforcement agency?
In most cases the answer would be no. Due to an ongoing criminal investigation and the condition of the vessel, it is not suitable for the claims process.

So for $300-$600 and 120 days you could have yourself a boat!

Leave a Comment




Back To the Captains' Log

You might also like

Info on Derelicts and “Live Aboard Hulks”
Identification, procedures, for Derelict, Abandoned,and AtRisk vessels in FL http://myfwc.com/media/407584/GeneralOrder21.pdf For...
2 boats catch fire in separate incidents
A sunny South Florida morning ended in flames for two boat owners after their vessels caught...
Abandoned boat found capsized near shores of local beach
Miami-Dade authorities are investigating the scene of an overturned boat near the shores of Sunny Isles...
Police clean up Intracoastal Waterway off Sunny Isles Boulevard
Sunny Isles Beach police officer Albert Porro carries part of a vessel found underwater during Operation...

0 comments

Your Comment:

*






All logos, trademarks and content in this site are property of their respective owners. Posts and comments are the property of their posters. All else is © 2000-2014 IslandCastaway.com Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
Subscribe

Subscribe

E-mail:

How Is My Site?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
  • Polls Archive

  • The Cruising Yacht SiteRing

    Previous | List | Random | Join | Next